About More Than Medication®

Text Size Print

Welcome to More Than Medication®

This free, wellness site is dedicated to sharing and celebrating all the small, yet powerful things you can do to stay healthy.

You might wonder why Pfizer, an innovative pharmaceutical company, is talking about health prevention?

It's pretty simple. We want to help Canadians live healthier, more balanced lives – because we believe that to be truly healthy, it takes More Than Medication®.

More than Medication® is Pfizer's way of showing you more about what we stand for as a company and what we care about. It's just one of the ways we're giving back.

There may be times when you or a loved one needs medication. When you do, Pfizer is there to help. In the meantime, there are lots of small, yet powerful things you can do to stay healthy.

As one of Canada's leading pharmaceutical companies, we have access to health information that can help you build a healthy body, spirit and mind. When we talked to Canadians, they asked us to share it.

Ready to explore More than Medication® and learn more?

It's easy. Simply browse through online tools, quizzes, games, checklists and articles to find the information and inspiration that's right for you.

Print or bookmark information; sign-up for our newsletter and even share interesting articles with friends.

What you'll find inside More Than Medication®

  • Eat better
    • Every bite counts! Fuel your body for optimal health.
  • Strengthen your mind and body
    • Improve your physical and mental strength, regardless of your age or fitness level.
  • Manage stress
    • Take a deep breath and learn to manage the impacts of a fast-paced lifestyle.
  • Be in charge of your own health care
    • Learn how to manage your own health care and interact better with your healthcare professional team.
  • Be brave
    • Support and hope when you need it most.
  • Relate better
    • Make the most of your relationships and develop your personal skills.
  • Find support
    • Search our directory of more than 10,000 Canadian non-commercial support groups.

Pfizer Canada collaborates with patient organizations and health care professionals, in the hopes of to providing you with credible information to inspire and motivate you to make healthier choices.

Introducing the More Than Medication® Advisory Board

Pfizer Canada collaborates with medical, health and wellness experts, to provide you credible, updated and relevant information.

Eli BayView Bio
Judith ChoquetteView Bio
Marla GoldView Bio
Dr. Michael GordonView Bio
Dr. Ted JablonskiView Bio
Antoinette GiacobbeView Bio
Annick RobinsonView Bio
Sharon ShenkerView Bio
Lynda DubéView Bio

Eli Bay

President, The Relaxation Response Institute

Eli Bay is the president of The Relaxation Response Institute, which he founded in Toronto in 1978. He is a respected pioneer in and spokesperson for complimentary approaches to healthcare and well-being. His training, instructional audiovisual material and television programs have taken his practical stress control strategies to people all over the world.

Judith Choquette

Pharmacist

Judith Choquette, a pharmacist based in the Montreal area, is a pharmacy consultant providing continuing education to pharmacists and pharmacy staff. She has been involved in the creation of many printed and video documents discussing wise use of medication and the role a pharmacist can play to help with health concerns. She is also a board member of the Quebec Order of Pharmacists and lecturer at the Faculty of Pharmacy at Université de Montréal.

Marla Gold

Senior Consultant, Health Systems Group

Marla Gold is a Senior Consultant - Health and Fitness Management with Health Systems Group, a national provider of fitness, wellness and health consulting and management services for corporate, commercial, public sector, educational and municipal clients. Prior to that, Marla was the Director of The McGill Cardiovascular Health Improvement Program (CHIP). As health and fitness were becoming a Canadian priority, Marla Gold worked for Fitness Canada during the early 1980's and developed many national awareness programs related to health and physical activity. Marla was then hired by the Department of Athletics at McGill University to direct all student sport, recreation and fitness activities including the McGill Summer Sports Camp. She also developed courses for the McGill Faculty of Education where she taught undergraduate courses in health and fitness.

Dr. Michael Gordon

Co-Author, Parenting Your Parents

Dr. Michael Gordon is the previous head of geriatrics and internal medicine at Toronto's Baycrest Geriatric Health Care system and is currently medical program director for palliative care. He is a professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto and co-author (with Bart Mindzsenthy) of Parenting Your Parents, a best-selling book published by Dundurn Press.

Dr. Ted Jablonski

Family Physician

Ted "dr j" Jablonski is a family physician in private practice in Calgary. Since graduating from the University of Manitoba in 1984, he has practiced and taught family medicine in Manitoba, Northern Saskatchewan and Northwestern Ontario before moving to Alberta. In addition to his busy practice, Ted is actively involved in nursing home work, sexual health consultations, clinical research trials, and the development and delivery of continuing medical education programs for other doctors across Canada. As well as being an avid cyclist and marathon runner, dr j also moonlights as a professional singer-songwriter.

Antoinette Giacobbe

Psychotherapist & Life Coach
http://www.lifestylemanagementpromotions.com

Antoinette Giacobbe is a life coach and personal development trainer specializing in stress management, anxiety and anger management, self-confidence issues, communication and conflict resolution. With more than 20 years of experience in holistic counselling and teaching (including teaching at Vanier Continuing Education since 1989), Antoinette has extensive knowledge in life skills development. She is also a yoga instructor.

Annick Robinson

Health and Wellness Professional
http://www.annickarts.com

Annick Robinson is a fitness instructor, yoga teacher, Budokon Sensei, trainer, workshop presenter, columnist and leader in the fitness industry, with more than 20 years of experience transforming the lives of her clients. In 2008, Annick became a certified presenter for The Climate Project Canada after being trained personally by former U.S. Vice President Al Gore and eminent Canadian scientist Dr. David Suzuki. She is currently an ambassador for Lululemon, and is the Canadian Director for Budokon International.

Sharon Shenker

Family & Relationship Coach
http://www.divorcesupportplus.ca
http://www.lovingtherightways.com

Sharon Shenker, Founder of Divorce Support Plus, has worked with children and families for more than twenty years, beginning as a preschool teacher and director. She is a group facilitator, public speaker, author and frequent guest for local and national print, television and radio shows, as well as the author of My Family Has Two Houses, her "workshop in a workbook". Sharon is dedicated to helping people prevent family breakdowns by dramatically changing the relationship and/or she helps people cope with, manoeuvre through, adjust to, heal from, and thrive after separation or divorce.

Lynda Dubé

Nutritionist

Nutria is an organization of 28 nutritionists who lend their services to pharmacies across Quebec, Lynda Dubé has worked for a number of years with Centre Local de Services Communautaires (CLSC) providing diabetic information to patients. Lynda is a respected nutritionist with strong relationships with consumers, patients and healthcare providers and, through Nutria, trains doctors, pharmacists and nurses on the latest in nutrition.

For more about Pfizer, visit Pfizer.ca. Learn about who we are, what we value and believe in, what we offer and what we're doing to work together for a healthier world.

À propos du site Plus que des médicamentsMD

Taille du texte Imprimer

Bienvenue sur le site Plus que des médicaments!

Ce site gratuit voué au bien-être vise à promouvoir et à célébrer tous ces petits gestes qui n'en ont pas moins une grande incidence sur la santé.

Vous vous demandez peut-être pourquoi une entreprise pharmaceutique novatrice comme Pfizer s'intéresse à la santé d'un point de vue préventif?

La réponse est simple. Nous voulons aider les Canadiens à mener une vie plus saine, plus équilibrée – parce que nous croyons que pour être vraiment en santé, il faut plus que des médicaments.

Le site Plus que des médicaments est le moyen que Pfizer a choisi pour vous faire part de ses valeurs et de ce qui lui tient à cœur. Il constitue l'une des façons de redonner à la collectivité.

Il peut arriver que vous ou l'un de vos proches ayez besoin de médicaments. Si c'est le cas, Pfizer peut vous aider. Entre-temps, il existe de nombreuses façons, souvent simples et très efficaces, de demeurer en bonne santé.

Comme nous figurons parmi les chefs de file de l’industrie pharmaceutique au Canada, nous avons accès à de l’information pouvant favoriser le maintien d’une bonne santé sur les plans physique, mental et psychique. À votre demande, nous la partageons avec vous.

Vous êtes prêt à explorer le site Plus que des médicaments pour en apprendre plus?

D'un simple clic, parcourez les différents outils, jeux, jeux-questionnaires, listes de vérification et articles, et trouvez l'information et l'inspiration dont vous avez besoin.

Vous pouvez imprimer ce qui a retenu votre attention ou ajouter des pages à vos favoris, vous abonner à notre bulletin d'information et même partager des articles avec vos amis.

Voici ce que vous trouverez sur le site Plus que des médicaments

  • Mangez mieux
    • Puisez dans chaque bouchée l'énergie dont votre organisme a besoin pour optimiser votre santé.
  • Renforcez votre corps et votre esprit
    • Améliorez votre force physique et mentale, peu importe votre âge et votre forme physique.
  • Gérez votre stress
    • Respirez profondément et apprenez à atténuer les effets d'un mode de vie trépidant.
  • Prenez votre santé en main
    • Découvrez comment prendre soin de vous et mieux communiquer avec les professionnels de la santé.
  • Soyez courageux
    • De quoi vous redonner confiance et espoir lorsque vous en avez le plus besoin.
  • Entretenez des rapports plus harmonieux
    • Faites en sorte que vos relations soient des plus enrichissantes et développez vos compétences personnelles.
  • Trouvez du soutien
    • Consultez notre base de données, dans laquelle sont répertoriés plus de 10 000 groupes de soutien sans but lucratif au Canada.

Pfizer Canada collabore avec des organismes de patients et des professionnels de la santé dans le but de vous offrir une information pertinente qui pourra vous inspirer et vous encourager à faire des choix santé.

Comité consultatif – Plus que des médicaments

Pfizer Canada collabore avec des experts en matière de médecine, de santé et de mieux-être dans le but de vous offrir une information pertinente, fiable et à jour.

Eli BayBiographie
Judith ChoquetteBiographie
Marla GoldBiographie
Docteur Michael GordonBiographie
Docteur Ted JablonskiBiographie
Antoinette GiacobbeBiographie
Annick RobinsonBiographie
Sharon ShenkerBiographie
Lynda DubéBiographie

Eli Bay

Président, The Relaxation Response Institute

Eli Bay est président du Relaxation Response Institute, qu'il a fondé à Toronto en 1978. C'est un pionnier respecté dans le domaine des soins de santé et du mieux-être, et un porte-parole des méthodes complémentaires connexes. Son matériel didactique audiovisuel et ses émissions de télévision lui permettent de communiquer ses méthodes pratiques de gestion du stress aux gens partout dans le monde.

Judith Choquette

Pharmacienne

Pharmacienne exerçant dans la région de Montréal, Judith Choquette est une conseillère qui fournit de la formation continue aux pharmaciens et au personnel de pharmacie. Elle a participé à la réalisation de nombreux documents imprimés et de vidéos traitant de l'utilisation judicieuse des médicaments et du rôle que joue le pharmacien pour aider les clients à résoudre leurs problèmes de santé. Elle est aussi membre du conseil d'administration de l'Ordre des pharmaciens du Québec et chargée de cours à la faculté de pharmacie de l'Université de Montréal.

Marla Gold

Consultante principale, Health Systems Group

Marla Gold agit à titre de consultante principale – Prise en charge de la santé et du bien-être au sein du Health Systems Group, une entreprise canadienne fournissant des services de conseil et de gestion en matière de mise en forme, de bien-être et de santé à des clients des milieux corporatif, commercial, public, éducatif et municipal. Avant d’occuper ce poste, elle était directrice du Programme d’amélioration de la santé cardiovasculaire de l’Université McGill (CHIP). Lorsque la santé et la mise en forme sont devenues des priorités pour les Canadiens, Marla Gold a mis sur pied, au début des années 1980, de nombreux programmes nationaux de sensibilisation à la santé et à l’activité physique alors qu’elle travaillait pour Condition physique Canada. Elle a par la suite été embauchée par le Département des sports de l’Université McGill dans le but d’assurer la direction de toutes les activités sportives, récréatives et de conditionnement physique des étudiants, y compris celles du camp sportif estival de McGill. Elle a créé de nouveaux cours pour la Faculté de l’éducation, où elle donne des cours de premier cycle en santé et en conditionnement physique.

Dr Michael Gordon

Coauteur de Parenting Your Parents

Le docteur Michael Gordon est l'ancien chef des services de gériatrie et de médecine interne du Baycrest Geriatric Centre de Toronto et l'actuel directeur du programme médical de soins palliatifs. Il est aussi professeur de médecine à l'Université de Toronto et coauteur (avec Bart Mindzsenthy) de Parenting Your Parents, un succès de librairie publié par Dundurn Press.

Dr Ted Jablonski

Médecin de famille

Ted Jablonski (« Dr J ») exerce en pratique privée à Calgary. Depuis qu'il a obtenu son diplôme à l'Université du Manitoba en 1984, il a pratiqué et enseigné la médecine familiale au Manitoba, dans le Nord de la Saskatchewan et dans le Nord de l'Ontario avant de déménager en Alberta. En plus d'être très occupé à son cabinet, Ted s'implique activement dans des centres d’hébergement, donne des consultations sur la santé sexuelle, participe à des essais cliniques et prend part à l'élaboration et à la prestation de programmes de formation médicale continue destinés à d'autres médecins à l'échelle du Canada. En plus d'être un fervent cycliste et marathonien, le Dr J est aussi auteur-compositeur-interprète professionnel.

Antoinette Giacobbe, M.A. (Psychologie de l’orientation)

Psychothérapeute et conseillère de vie
http://www.lifestylemanagementpromotions.com

Antoinette Giacobbe est conseillère de vie et formatrice en perfectionnement personnel, spécialisée dans la gestion du stress, de l’anxiété et de la colère, des questions liées à la confiance en soi, la communication et la résolution de conflits. Elle possède 20 ans d’expérience en tant que conseillère en santé globale et dans le domaine de l’enseignement (y compris à l’Éducation permanente du collège Vanier depuis 1989), ainsi que de vastes connaissances en développement d’aptitudes à la vie. Elle est aussi professeure de yoga.

Annick Robinson

Professionnelle de la santé et du mieux-être
http://www.annickarts.com

Annick Robinson est monitrice de conditionnement physique, professeure de yoga et sensei (maître) de budokon, formatrice, animatrice d’ateliers, chroniqueuse et chef de file dans l’industrie du conditionnement physique. Elle possède plus de 20 ans d’expérience durant lesquelles elle a contribué à changer la vie de ses clients. En 2008, Annick est devenue présentatrice certifiée pour Le projet climatique — Canada, après avoir été formée personnellement par Al Gore, ancien vice président américain, et par David Suzuki, l’éminent scientifique canadien. Annick est présentement ambassadrice pour Lululemon et la directrice canadienne de Budokon International.

Sharon Shenker

Conseillère en relations familiales
http://www.divorcesupportplus.ca
http://www.lovingtherightways.com

Sharon Shenker, fondatrice de Divorce Support Plus, a travaillé avec des enfants et des familles durant plus de 20 ans, débutant comme professeure et directrice au niveau préscolaire. Elle est animatrice, conférencière, auteure, et est fréquemment invitée à écrire des articles pour des journaux ou des magazines régionaux ou nationaux et à participer à des émissions de radio ou de télévision; elle est aussi auteure de My Family Has Two Houses, son « atelier contenu dans un livre ». Sharon se consacre à aider les gens qui veulent prévenir la séparation familiale par le changement des dynamiques relationnelles. Elle aide aussi les gens à faire face à une séparation ou à un divorce, à évoluer, à s’ajuster, à guérir et à retrouver goût à la vie après une telle épreuve.

Lynda Dubé

Nutritionniste

Nutria est une organisation réunissant 28 nutritionnistes qui donnent leurs services dans les pharmacies partout au Québec. Lynda Dubé a travaillé durant plusieurs années dans les CLSC, où elle a prodigué de l’information aux personnes atteintes de diabète. Lynda est une nutritionniste réputée qui a développé de solides relations avec les consommateurs, les patients et les professionnels de la santé. Par l’entremise de Nutria, elle renseigne les médecins, les pharmaciens et les infirmières sur les plus récentes découvertes en nutrition.

Pour en apprendre plus au sujet de Pfizer, des valeurs que nous préconisons, des produits que nous offrons et de notre principe directeur, Ensemble, vers un monde en meilleure santé, visitez le site Pfizer.ca.